Saturn V | Apollo 11

Saturn V | Apollo 11

Launch Complex 39A
Kennedy Space Center, FL, USA













Date Loading...

National Aeronautics and Space Administration

The National Aeronautics and Space Administration is an independent agency of the executive branch of the United States federal government responsible for the civilian space program, as well as aeronautics and aerospace research. NASA have many launch facilities but most are inactive. The most commonly used pad will be LC-39B at Kennedy Space Center in Florida.


Apollo 11

Apollo 11 was commanded by Neil Armstrong , Command Module Pilot Michael Collins and Lunar Module Pilot Edwin "Buzz" E. Aldrin. The Mission was to complete the goal that President John F. Kennedy set on May 25, 1961 to land a man on the moon and return the crew back to Earth. On July 20,1969 Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin landed there Lunar Module on the sea of tranquility this marked the first time a human has set foot upon another celestial body.

info More Information

Apollo Columbia CSM-107

Serial CSM-107

Launch Crew Count 3

Status Single Use

Landing Time 1969-07-24T16:50:00+0000



Neil Armstrong


Nationality American

Date Of Birth 1930-08-05

Deceased 2012-08-25

Status Deceased

Type Government

Michael Collins

Command Module Pilot

Nationality American

Date Of Birth 1930-10-31

Deceased 2021-04-28

Status Deceased

Type Government

Buzz Aldrin

Lunar Module Pilot

Nationality American

Date Of Birth 1930-01-20

Status Retired

Type Government

Saturn V

Height 110.60 Meters

Max Stages 3

Mass To GTO 0 kg

Liftoff Thrust 35100 kN

Diameter 10.10 Meters

Mass To LEO 140000 kg

Liftoff Mass 2970 Tonnes

Launch Success 12

Consecutive Success 11

Maiden Flight 1967-11-09

Launch Failures 1




The Apollo program was the third United States human spaceflight program carried out by the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), which succeeded in landing the first humans on the Moon from 1969 to 1972.

Related Events

Apollo 11th 50th Anniversary - Lunar Landing


The United States' Apollo 11 was the first crewed mission to land on the Moon, on 20 July 1969. To date, the United States is the only country to have successfully conducted crewed missions to the Moon, with the last departing the lunar surface in December 1972. A total of twelve men have landed on the Moon. This was accomplished with two US pilot-astronauts flying a Lunar Module on each of six NASA missions across a 41-month period starting 20 July 1969 UTC, with Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin on Apollo 11, and ending on 14 December 1972 UTC with Gene Cernan and Jack Schmitt on Apollo 17. Cernan was the last to step off the lunar surface.

Splashdown - Apollo 11th (50th Anni.)


After completing the monumental Apollo 11 Moon landing, Neil Armstrong, Buzz Aldrin and Michael Collins safely splashed back into the Pacific Ocean on July 24, 1969.

See More News