Soyuz-FG | Soyuz TMA-16

Soyuz-FG | Soyuz TMA-16

Baikonur Cosmodrome, Republic of Kazakhstan













Date Loading...

Russian Federal Space Agency (ROSCOSMOS)

The Roscosmos State Corporation for Space Activities, commonly known as Roscosmos, is the governmental body responsible for the space science program of the Russian Federation and general aerospace research. Soyuz has many launch locations the Russian sites are Baikonur, Plesetsk and Vostochny however Ariane also purchases the vehicle and launches it from French Guiana.


Soyuz TMA-16

Soyuz TMA-16 begins Expedition 21 by carrying 3 astronauts and cosmonauts to the International Space Station. Russian Commander, cosmonaut Maksim Surayev alongside Flight Engineer, Jeffrey Williams (NASA) & spaceflight participant Guy Laliberté (Spaceflight Adventures, Canada) will launch aboard the Soyuz spacecraft from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan and then rendezvous with the station. It landed on March 18, 2010, 11:24 UTC

info More Information

Soyuz TMA-16

Serial Soyuz TMA 11F732A17 #226

Launch Crew Count 3

Status Single Use

Landing Time 2010-03-18T11:24:00+0000



Maksim Surayev


Nationality Russian

Date Of Birth 1972-05-24

Status Retired

Type Government

Jeffrey Williams

Flight Engineer

Nationality American

Date Of Birth 1958-01-18

Status Active

Type Government

Guy Laliberté


Nationality Canadian

Date Of Birth 1959-09-02

Status Retired

Type Non-Astronaut Passenger

Soyuz FG

Height 49.50 Meters

Max Stages 2

Mass To GTO 0 kg

Liftoff Thrust 0 kN

Diameter 3.00 Meters

Mass To LEO 6450 kg

Liftoff Mass 310000 Tonnes

Launch Success 59

Consecutive Success 5

Maiden Flight 2001-05-20

Launch Failures 1




The Soyuz programme is a human spaceflight programme initiated by the Soviet Union in the early 1960s. The Soyuz spacecraft was originally part of a Moon landing project intended to put a Soviet cosmonaut on the Moon. It was the third Soviet human spaceflight programme after the Vostok and Voskhod programmes.

International Space Station

The International Space Station programme is tied together by a complex set of legal, political and financial agreements between the sixteen nations involved in the project, governing ownership of the various components, rights to crewing and utilization, and responsibilities for crew rotation and resupply of the International Space Station. It was conceived in 1984 by President Ronald Reagan, during the Space Station Freedom project as it was originally called.

See More News